Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Award - Arline Custer Memorial Award

Arline Custer Memorial Award

given by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC)

DEADLINE:  July 31, 2013

Arline Custer Memorial Award

Presented by the MARAC Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee, this award

the memory of Arline Custer (1909-1975), MARAC member and editor of the

Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.


The Arline Custer Memorial Award recognizes the best books and articles

or compiled by individuals and institutions in the MARAC region – the
District of

Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia

West Virginia.

Works under consideration include, but are not limited to, monographs,

narratives, reference works and exhibition catalogs using archival sources.

Individuals or institutions may submit up to two works published between
July 2012 and

June 2013.


Works must be relevant to the general public as well as the archival
community. They

also should be original and well-researched using available sources. In
addition, they

should be clearly presented, well-written and organized. Visual materials,
if used, should

be appropriate to the text.

Preference will be given to works by archivists.


Up to two awards may be given, with a maximum value of $200.00 for books and

$100.00 for articles. The 2013 awards will be announced at the Fall 2011
Conference in

Philadelphia, PA.

How to submit an entry

Please send two copies of each submission with a letter of nomination to
the Chair of the

Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee:

Molly Tighe

Arline Custer Award

Mattress Factory Museum

500 Sampsonia Way

Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Email: molly@mattress.org

Entries must be received by July 31, 2013

For additional information about this award and a list of previous award
winners, see the Arline Custer Memorial Award site: