Tuesday, November 12, 2013

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award Deadline December 1, 2013 The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award was established by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) to honor the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation. The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in ALA is not required. The Cunha/Swartzburg Award is sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge and includes a $1,250 grant and citation. Criteria, The award jury will consider: a project emphasizing collaboration or partnership collaboration extending the preservation vision beyond the circle of preservation specialists and foster action to raise awareness and set priorities, projects, and programs into motion nomination of an individual or group for cumulative achievement as a mentor or advocate of collaborative preservation. Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in the ALA organization is not required. Send nominations, including: · name of the person or group being nominated · address, phone number and email address of nominee and nominating party · a formal statement of nomination, with rationale for the nomination · resume, vita or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determination · letters of support and endorsement Please send nominations to Julie Mosbo, chair, Cunha/Swartzburg Jury, jmosbo@library.tamu.edu Visit the Cunha Swartzburg page for more information.