Saturday, June 19, 2010

Awards - MARAC

The Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee encourages entries by individual
authors or institutions in the MARAC region for the 2010 Arline Custer
Memorial Award, recognizing books and articles, and the 2010 C. Herbert
Finch Award, highlighting online publications. Works must be relevant to
the general public as well as the archival community and preference will be
given to work by archivists.

Works under consideration for the Arline Custer Memorial Award include, but
are not limited to, monographs, popular narratives, reference works and
exhibition catalogs using archival sources. Individuals or institutions may
submit up to two works published between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010. Up
to two awards may be given, with a maximum value of $200.00 for books and
$100.00 for articles.

The C. Herbert Finch Award seeks entries that support and promote the use of
archival materials such as virtual exhibitions, web sites and web
pages. Submissions
are judged on content, navigability, usability, functionality, and site
design. To be eligible for the award, an online publication must have a
stable internet address and must have been published between January 1, 2010
and June 30, 2010. One award will be given with a maximum value of $250.00.


The 2010 awards will be announced at the Fall 2010 Conference in Harrisburg,

Submission Guidelines for both Awards are available online: