Friday, November 27, 2009

Award - Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services

Call for Nominations: 2010 Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services
from Beyond the Job by sarah

The Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services is given to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons’ reference needs. The resource can be a bibliography, a guide to the literature of a specific subject, a directory, a database, or any other project that has helped the library meet adult or children’s reference needs. Tools, guides, or databases that have been developed for reader’s advisory or adult service questions and needs are also eligible for the award. Stressing excellent content, creativity, ingenuity, technological finesse, usability, relevance, and overall innovation is what the jury will seek as it reviews all nominations. ((Established 1990).

SPONSOR: The award is sponsored by Gale Cengage Learning , Farmington Hills, Michigan, and administered by RUSA.

FORM OF AWARD: $3,000 and a citation. Award will be presented at the American Library Association Annual Meeting in June 2009 in Washington, DC

SUBMITTING NOMINATIONS: Nominations are to be made in writing, stating in detail how the resource has contributed to meeting patrons’ reference needs. All nominations should include the following:

• description of the resource
• description of the format, e.g., card file, database, etc.
• list of sources used to compile the resource
• target audience
• criteria used in selecting material for inclusion. (If the resource is inclusive, please state so clearly.)
• breadth of coverage, i.e., time and subject
• explanation of what makes the resource imaginative or unique

A sample of the resource (or entry, pages, printout, etc.) must accompany the nomination.

Additional information is available on the committee’s web site or the RUSABlog

The award (formerly titled the Thomson Gale Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services) has been given annually since 1991. The last recipient was the University of Kentucky Library for the Notable Kentucky African Americans Database. Other recent recipients include Springfield-Greene County Library, Springfield (Mo.) , New Orleans Public Library, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center Library, University Library/ University of Nebraska at Omaha, Richmond (British Columbia) Public Library, North Carolina State University Libraries, Smithsonian American Art Museum, and Orange County Library System, Orlando (Fla.)

Please send us your letter of nomination and relevant documentation to the Committee Chair, Julia Gelfand (information noted below), by December 15, 2009. The receipt of all nominations will be acknowledged.

Please do not hesitate to call or email me with any questions you might have about the award or the nomination process. The Committee members and I look forward to hearing from you!

On behalf of the Committee,

Julia Gelfand
Applied Sciences & Engineering Librarian
University of California, Irvine Libraries
Science Library 228
Irvine, CA 92623-9556
FAX: 949-559-5424
VOICE: 949-824-4971 / via libref-l