Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Scholarship - Midwest Archives Conference


The Midwest Archives Conference (MAC) is soliciting applications for its annual MAC Louisa Bowen Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Students in Archival Administration. The scholarship is designed to provide financial assistance to a resident or full-time student of the MAC region pursuing graduate education in archival administration. One award, comprising a $750 scholarship and a one-year membership to MAC, will be presented this year.

In order to be eligible for a scholarship, the applicant must meet the following requirements:

1) Applicants must be residents of or full-time students residing in one of the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin;

2) Applicants must be currently enrolled in or accepted into, a graduate, multi-course program in archival administration. If the program is not listed in the SAA Directory of Archival Education (http://www.archivists.org/prof-education/edd-index.asp), the applicant must provide proof of the multi-course standard by submitting copies of course descriptions from the institution's current departmental catalog;

3) Applicants must have a grade point average of at least 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) in their academic program

Application information is available on the MAC website at http://www.midwestarchives.org/mc/page.do?sitePageId=92949&orgId=midwestarc

or from the Bowen Scholarship Committee Chair:

Hillary Bober (2009-2011)
Digital Archivist
Dallas Museum of Art
1717 N. Harwood St.
Dallas, TX 75201
T: 214-922-1367
F: 214-954-1074

Applications must be received electronically or postmarked by March 1, 2010. Awards will be announced at the MAC Spring meeting.

The Midwest Archives Conference is one of the nation's largest regional archival organizations, drawing on a membership of more than 1,000 individuals and institutional members from its 13-state area.