Thursday, September 20, 2012

Webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 2

ALCTS webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 2 Date: October 3, 2012 All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time. Part 1 will be held September 19, 2012. Description: A theoretical overview of how demand-driven acquisitions (DDA) would work as the primary means of building monographic collections and how that model would impact publishers/publishing, approval vendors, libraries, and end users. Includes an in-depth discussion of concerns and questions about the implications of DDA on the scholarly communication supply chain—publishers, approval vendors, libraries. How will DDA impact each group? How might DDA change publishing? Will approval vendors need to develop new business models? How will library collections be impacted? Who Should Attend? Anyone with an interest in learning more about demand driven (also called patron driven) acquisitions. Presenters: Michael Levine-Clark, Associate Dean for Scholarly Communications and Collection Services, University of Denver ; Barbara Kawecki, Senior Manager, Digital Sales, Western U.S., YBP Library Services ; Rebecca Seger, Institutional Sales Director, Oxford University Press. ***************** Single Webinar Registration Fees: $39 ALCTS Member; $49 Non-member; $39 International; $99 Group (a group of people that will watch it together). Check the ALCTS Web site for discount pricing for this two part series. For additional information and access to registrations links, please go to the following website: