Friday, December 10, 2010

Award - change in eligibility for Hurston Award

CODES has just changed the eligibility so that any ALA member can be nominated for the Zora Neale Hurston Award for leadership in promoting African American literature!

Please nominate yourself or a colleague for the Zora Neale Hurston Award. This award is given to an ALA member librarian who has demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature through a project.
According to the official criteria, "project examples include, but are not limited to, a program, display, collection building efforts, a special readers’ advisory focus, or innovation in service. Candidates will also be evaluated on the extent
their projects promoted African American literature and highlighted its rich history and diversity."

The winner will receive $1,250 in funds to attend the ALA Annual Conference, tickets for the Literary Tastes Breakfast and FOLUSA Author tea, and a set of Zora Neale Hurston books from Harper Perennial.

For more information and the online form, please go to [ ]

The deadline for nominations is December 15, 2010.


Cynthia Crosser (Chair, Zora Neale Hurston Award)

5729 Raymond H. Fogler Library,
Orono, ME 04469-5729
(207) 581-3612