Thursday, March 1, 2012

Travel grant - New York Archives Conference

*New York** Archives Conference *

*Professional Development Grants Available*

*Application deadline:* Wednesday, April 25th, 2012, 5 pm

The New York Archives Conference annual meeting will be held June 6-8,
2012, at Nazareth College in Rochester, NY. Presentations on topics
including image archiving, collaborative digitization projects, mobile
applications in archives, local genealogy tools, lone arrangers, MPLP (More
Product, Less Process) and more will be offered. The conference program
can be found at

The New York Archives Conference will offer multiple $100 professional
development grants, and three additional $100 grants will be provided by
John A. Woods in order to enable archives students, archivists, librarians,
and others with archives or records management responsibilities to attend
the conference.

John A. Woods Appraisers specializes in the appraisal of books, documents,
manuscripts, fine arts, decorative arts, antique machinery and equipment,
photographs, historical artifacts, and furniture:

Funds may be applied to travel, lodging, meals, workshops, or conference
registration. Each recipient is required to attend both meeting days (June
7-8). Preference in grant awards will be given to applicants who are:

-First time conference attendees


-Permanent residents of New York State;


-Paid or volunteer employees working in a New York State archival
collection or records management position


-Students enrolled in an archives administration or records management
educational program in New York State

In order to be considered for a professional development grant, all
application materials must be received by 5 p.m., Wednesday, April 25,
2012. Notification of awards will be made by Wednesday, May 2, 2012. The
conference program and professional development grant application form can
be found at Questions and application
materials should be directed to

*Please Note: Previous recipients of a NYAC grant (formerly called
scholarships) are not eligible to apply.*